top of page

FAA Level 3 Award in Principles of Safeguarding and Protecting Children, Young People or Vulnerable Adults (RQF)

Safeguarding is how we can protect children, young people and vulnerable adults from abuse or neglect by the actions, or lack of actions, of another person. In order to safeguard and protect persons from abuse or neglect we need to learn how to identify vulnerable individuals and take necessary steps to stop abuse and neglect.


This 2 day qualification is designed for all persons, no matter the field that they are directly involved in, to give them the tools and knowledge to make a difference to a vulnerable person’s life. It will also let the practitioner reporting the abuse know how they can safeguard themselves in every day work, while seeking help and reporting the incident identified.

This qualification is regulated in the UK and awarded by First Aid Awards. FAA are an Awarding Organisation regulated by Ofqual and SQA Accreditation. The qualification sits on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) 

Qualification Delivery
The class ratio for the qualification is a maximum of 12 learners to 1 Trainer/Assessor.


A range of Safeguarding related subjects are covered including:

  • Safeguarding legislation and guidance 

  • Indicators of abuse or neglect 

  • Making judgements  

  • Communication 

  • Roles and responsibilities 

  • Sharing of information 

  • Dealing with and reporting of allegations and complaints 

  • Assessment and marking

Entry Requirements

Learners must be a minimum of 18 years of age upon course commencement. A maximum of 12 learners can be accommodated on this course.

Learning outcomes and assessment criteria

A regulated qualification has set learning outcomes and assessment criteria. The qualification is assessed through a written assessment to achieve the qualification. There is no grading of the assessment; learners pass or are referred.


Upon successful completion of the qualification assessment, Learners will be awarded an Ofqual national Level 3 Award in England.  

bottom of page